Fecal exam

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Sue Gremlin, Jan 25, 2018.

1. Sue Gremlin

Sue Gremlin Songster

Jan 1, 2013
    I thought this might be interesting to share. I did a fecal exam on my chickens today, one of them has intermittent diarrhea, and I am a parasitology student so need the practice. :)

My girls are being treated with fenbendazole, they are apparently looooooaded with worms! The egg in the middle is from a fluke, and the other, wibbly-looking morulated eggs are strongylids and cecal worms.

IMG_4428.JPG

casportpony likes this.
  2. Sue Gremlin

Sue Gremlin Songster

Jan 1, 2013
    A wider shot of the smear.

Attached Files:

casportpony likes this.
  3. rebrascora

rebrascora Crowing

Feb 14, 2014
    Consett Co.Durham. UK
    Oh wow! I'm so sorry that your girls have such a high worm burden. I thought those ones with multiple particles inside were going to be tapeworm segments, until I read your text. How old are the hens? Do you have any idea why their worm burden is so high? Was this a sample from a single hen (the one that has loose droppings) or a group sample?
    Thank you so much for posting. It's really interesting in a :sick sort of way!

casportpony likes this.
  4. Sue Gremlin

Sue Gremlin Songster

Jan 1, 2013
    They have so many worms because I don't have them on a regular deworming schedule. They are about 3 years old. It was a direct smear taken from one chicken, which means that I didn't concentrate the worm eggs. It's a LOT of worm eggs! They are not sick or symptomatic at all. They are free-range so I guess it's not shocking that they have so many worms. God knows what kind of bugs and worms and other intermediate hosts they eat! We live in an area with lots of wild animals about.

casportpony likes this.
  5. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General

Great thread!

6. casportpony

Hey, I have a great cecal worm picture if you're interested. :D