Feed cost per bird question?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by mvktr2, Oct 13, 2009.

1. mvktr2

mvktr2 Out Of The Brooder

I'm just getting into doing this after about 2 decades off the farm! I'm absolutely getting some layers, but am considering getting some meaties if it's cost effecient. I'll probably be limited in space, so I'll be purchasing in lots of 25 I suspect. Thus my initial investment would be slightly higher than someone buying 100 at a time. Okay I can do that math on my own. What I hope someone can guide me on is:

What is the cost estimate in feed, medicated water, starter, etc. to grow a bird up from hatchling to butchering size (8-10 weeks)

Thanks,
    Phillip

2. Tad

Tad Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2008
    South TX on the border
    i based my math on just the feed and what I read on this site that it takes about 17 pounds of feed per meat chicken start to finish....I figure its gonna run me about 4.5 to 5.5 dollars per bird in feed

3. bigredfeather

bigredfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Yorkshire, Ohio
    Quote:Seventeen pounds per bird is a good estimate. The biggest variable is how big will the birds get eating 17 pounds each. The % protein of the feed will determine the outcome. I use a 23% non medicated feed from day one until freezer camp. At 8 weeks, my birds average about 4 1/2 pounds. If you go with a lower % protein feed, they will likely be smaller, because the birds have less protein to build mass.

Raising broilers isn't an economical way to get chicken. You will most likely not be able to raise them for less than what you can buy at a grocery store on sale. It is piece of mind knowing you are eating something that you have been a part of for 8-10 weeks, giving them only what you feel is best. I will say they generally taste better than a store chicken. I'm not sure if it because I raised them and something I raise always seems to taste better to me, or if there is a real difference.