Feed efficiency

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by BonnLBP, Nov 23, 2014.

1. BonnLBP

BonnLBP Out Of The Brooder

Jul 21, 2012
    Hi, I've been raising laying hens for about 3 years now, molting seoson always hits me hard though. I currently have 17 hens. I have upped their protein level to about 30%. They have lost quite a bit of weight though. I am feeding them feed that gives them about 2.5% fat along with 2 other feeds mixed in with it one 5% fat and the other 2% fat. Does anybody suggest anything different? I am also feeding them in 2 kitchens pans and one small dog dish. What do you suggest I feed them in? I also sprinkle feed on the ground. I have always been known to spoil my chickens, weather if I have 6 or 19 hens. I would rather not spoil them, but I don't want to under feed them as well. I have an egg laying buissness to save up for college so my budget is tight, but I don't want to loose any hens either.does anyone have any suggestions, especially on their feed and how to feed them? I have about 5 feed stores in town, Diamond D, Tractor Supply Co.,Elston's, Livery and Kahoot's,

2. pdirt

pdirt Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2013
    Eastern WA
    I'm not sure, but I think 30% protein might be a bit high, even during a molt. I could be wrong...it's just I've never seen anyone suggest that high during a molt.

Have they actually lost weight, I mean, have you weighed them on a reliable scale? When ours molt, they *look* like they lost weight, but that's just from losing feathers, not actual weight loss.

I wouldn't sprinkle feed on the ground. The powdery vitamins and minerals are not as likely to get eaten. Just keep with feeders or dishes. If you want to sprinkle on the ground, give them some scratch grains.

3. BonnLBP

BonnLBP Out Of The Brooder

Jul 21, 2012