Feedback on coop ideas-In garage with opening to outside pen?Tractor?

limabean

Songster
11 Years
Sep 28, 2008
Hello folks! I'm new to this, reading lots, and exploding with ideas! I plan to get chicks in May. I think I've figured out a brooder, but I'm still trying to figure out the coop plan. I am very fortunate to have a father-in-law who is both a carpenter and a birder, so I think I will end up with a great coop, but I want to know what I want before I involve him.

I was settled on the idea of the coop being inside our garage (we don't park a car in there, and it has electricity) with a ramp leading out the existing window to an outside run. But I also really want to be able to move the chickens around the lawn, as with a chicken tractor.
Is there a good way to combine these ideas? At first I thought the outside pen would be detachable and moveable, but it occured to me that the chickens ought to have free access to their house and not be forced to stay outside when allowed out.

Also, the garage is insulated, but not heated or anything...does the coop need insulating as well if I do build it inside the garage? I live in Central Ontario - very cold winters, hot humid summers.

eta: Another somewhat related question - if I let them roam the yard (only when I'm nearby of course), what is the risk of them getting out? I have a 6 foot high fence all around - can they get over that?

Last edited:
I think using the garage is a great idea! The coop should be insulated, yes. Not sure exactly where you are but I am close to North Bay Ontario. You are going to have to add ventelation as well...both summer and winter...does the garage have a few windows you can open?

Thanks for you reply morelcabin. I'm in the Kawartha Lakes area.
Ventilation - The garage has only one window, the one that I plan to use as an opening for the chickens to go outside.
Does one ventilate just under the roof of the coop, so air flows without being directly drafty on the birds?