feeder and water system for 8 (newbie)

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by BruutalPoodle, Mar 29, 2015.

1. BruutalPoodle

BruutalPoodle Out Of The Brooder

Mar 22, 2015
    South Georgia
    Any ideas for a diy or store bought feeder and waterer for 8 birds. I'm new to this and would like some input.

2. 303hunter

303hunter Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2015
    Fayetteville, NC
    Do you mean for chicks? If so, don't buy the small round feeders with 6-8 feeding "holes". They will waste 5 times as much as they eat. I use a disposable baking pan with 3"
    sides. They won't scratch out hardly any, and you can keep an old spoon handy to scoop out poop. Rinse the pan when needed, or replace, they're $1.

For waterers, the feed store gravity type that use a quart jar work fine, they're about $3.

What kind of birds do you have? I grew up on a farm, and after 20 years have gotten back into chickens. They're lots of fun!

3. BruutalPoodle

Mar 22, 2015
    South Georgia
    I honestly don't know. I was about to start another thread to find out. Some my wife had to have when we made a trip to TSC. They are a lot of fun so far!

4. Dfwgolden

Dfwgolden Out Of The Brooder

Mar 29, 2015
    I don't use a feeding system I make my hens work for their food.

Water I just use concrete mixing tubs and rinse and refill them out every few days

5. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member Project Manager

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    Welcome from Middle Georgia..so glad you decided to join us. Sounds like y'all had to scramble to get things to care for your new flock.

Posting pics will help folks give the advice you seek.

TSC is having spring chick days, so I assume they are very young. If they are baby chicks, make sure you use a water fount made for chicks or add marbles it an open dish so they won't drown. They will scratch and poop in any feeder, but I do prefer the small ones made for chicks until they are at least 5-6 weeks old.