Feeding back eggshells for calcium - how I do it!

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by jstlitlome, Oct 20, 2013.

1. jstlitlome

jstlitlome Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2013
    Missouri
    I'm new to this whole chicken thing so about everything that I do for them I learned from you all! I always love seeing how everyone does things. This is one little thing that works well for me, so thought I'd share:

I like the idea of feeding eggs back to the chickens. Its re-using of resources and best of all its free! Also, my chickens aren't too keen on the oyster shell.

I don't like the idea of just setting raw eggshells out in the coop to grow bacteria and mold, so this is how I do it:

Each morning after breakfast, I rinse out each egg, rubbing the inside to get rid of the slimy part and set them on my sink to dry a bit. (I lysol my sink afterward, of course! )
    [​IMG]

Then I put them in a ziploc bag and crush them up a bit
    [​IMG]

I keep the bag in the freezer and continue adding eggs to the bag until they run low in the coop and need more. Each time I add some, I crush them up a little more. They crush into tiny pieces easily when they are frozen.
    [​IMG]

Then when it is time, I put them on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and bake them at 350 for about 10 - 15 minutes. This gets the moisture off of them and sanitizes them.

[​IMG]

After it cools I bring it out to the coop! The girls love it! and I'm confident that it wont sit there and grow stuff. Plus its, nice and flaky and it no longer resembles an egg. I suppose this is important so they dont get any egg eating ideas.

[​IMG]

Then I start a new bag.

Its not rocket science, but just a little sumpin that works for me!

Leslie

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    It's not rocket science, buy why do you make it so much work?