Feeding BBW vs BR

Arielle

Crowing
8 Years
Feb 19, 2011
Massachusetts, USA
Since the BBW grow very fast, it seemed prudent to keep them on starter (28% protein) for a long time. But how long? Is it cost effective to change them to grower pellets(22%) at 2 months until mkt?

ANd with BR as they grow much slower, when do I drop the starter and put them on grower?

Thank you for your help!

That's an interesting perspective. I have only raised a few BBW (3 to be exact), so I am no expert here, but my take would have been that since they are such efficient converters of feed they could get by on lower protein sooner than heritage birds. I have a friend who raises two BB a year for the holidays, and he only uses meat maker feed, even for starting.

As I'm sure you've read on this site, some people keep heritage birds on starter forever, and some drop the starter much sooner. I try to switch at 6 weeks when I move from the brooder to the fields. This year we had a very late spring followed by record heat, and I have birds of different ages. The younger birds didn't seem to be keeping pace with the older ones for growth, so I have temporarily blended back to about 25% protein.