Feeding cat food as a treat...

Pam_x

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jul 20, 2011
I am quite new to keeping chickens and i was told giving cat food has a treat now and again is a good source of protine!!
dose anyone else give this to there chickens?
luv
pam x

I feed cat kibble as well as my performance dog kibble to my chickens in the winter to help with extra fat and protein. They love it. I even soak it in warm water, meat or fruit juice and such for added moisture/nutrition.

I have read and spoke to my local feed store who says that is a big no no as far as allowing them cat and dog food processed foods such as cat and dog food are not good for organically grown chicken eggs or meat. Your chickies will not be considered organic if that is at all important to you. So instead for extra protein they suggested other things such as oyster shell, and I give mine black sunflower seed for birds they love the extra treat. Good luck and happy farming. :))

Quote:
Well I think they may have given you a little bit of wrong info there....

Oyster shell is NOT anything to a chicken but calcium. Its only to help with laying hens have enough calcium for the eggs without leaching it form themselves. And honestly... not be rude or anything... but I know many feed stores have people who dont know what they are talking about either. I had a long drawn out almost argument with a feed-store lady at our local store that was adamant about not giving me all purpose pellets cos I had a few laying hens. I tried explaining to her that I know they needed the oyster shells, which is why they had a free feeding bin...but nope... I was told no circumstances should I ever feed anything other than laying pellets to my girls, no matter if they had oyster shell or not on the side. Needless to say I went somewhere else. I have also had them swear up and down that a particular chick was a pullet...and it started to crow not long later.