Feeding Chickens

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by cjhubbs, Dec 18, 2012.

1. cjhubbs

cjhubbs Out Of The Brooder

Sep 6, 2012
    NH
    Hello,
    I have been raising chickens for the past 5 years and have always fed them with a commercial chicken feed. This never was a problem until this year when the price of animal feed has begun to sky rocket. The normal 50 pound bag of egg layer feed that we get went from $10:50 at the beginning of the year to $16:00 by now and is rising. I was wondering if there are any cheaper ways I could feed my chickens without sacrificing the nutrients they need? Also is there a way that I could not only get feed cheaper and it doesn't require hours and hours of work? Secondly, I am planning on beginning my adventure of raising eat birds next year and I noticed that the price of meat bird feed is also rising. I was wondering if I have to feed the meat birds, in this case Cornish x, the generic meat bird feed or do I have other cheaper options? Thank you so much for you help!

2. mcoleman12

mcoleman12 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 8, 2012
    I'm always looking for something cheaper so i'm following this thread!! I go through 50lbs of feed in less than two weeks. I'm reading about fermenting their food??

3. cjhubbs

Sep 6, 2012
    NH
    I was wondering if anyone has recipes for homemade chicken food? i have been looking around but it seems like most of the ingredients fro the recipes will cost more altogether then pre-mixed feed. Also, I was wondering how you all feed your chickens and how do you minimize waisted feed?

Last edited: Dec 19, 2012
  4. ChickensRDinos

ChickensRDinos Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2012
    Los Angeles
    I would read about fermenting feed and growing fodder. Fermenting feed can make the feed you are paying for more nutritious and also make it last longer. There are several good threads on the site.