Feeding chicks and Mom

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kbreak, Nov 7, 2011.

1. kbreak

kbreak Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 1, 2011
    Columbia, MS
    I have 6 baby chicks (1 week old) and the mother in a run about 3ft X 7ft. I have been feeding them all starter feed. I don't know how much to feed them and her. How much food do I feed them and how often? Do I need to feed the hen something else. I have just been scattering it on the ground. Our hen was free ranged with our rooster and we never fed them. They go to the barn and eat cracked corn and chicken feed. I am lost in knowing how to take of them but very excited in learning. I love to just sit and watch her and the chicks. Amazing how something so small knows how to scratch for food. LOL.
    Need advice on feeding. Please !!
    [​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    I'm fairly new to chickens in the last year, but read the forum constantly for advice. I think getting a bag of purina flock raiser is good for everyboday including layers, roosters, and babies. It has 20% protein just like chick starter. Or your mama hen can eat chick starter with the babies until they are 20 weeks old. Just put a little crushed oyster shell out for mama to get her extra calcium (the babies shouldn't eat it and don't need it.)

3. SteveBaz

SteveBaz Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2011
    Pacific North West
    Personally I would go get medicated chick starter. The hen will eat it too and throw down some added oyster shells for a calcium supply for her. If she is not laying then non needed.

4. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe True BYC Addict

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    It's a personal choice whether to medicate but free ranging birds don't really need medicated feed because they don't come into contact with enough of the parasite. Medicated is only for cocciodosis. Caged and free range birds rarely get coccidia.