Feeding chicks DuMOR 24% Starter Feed

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by dazluv1977, Jun 28, 2017.

1. dazluv1977

dazluv1977 In the Brooder

Jun 23, 2017
    Adams, Tennessee
    I am new to BYC and when I bought supplies for my day old chicks (got it before they arrived so I was prepared) I purchased DuMOR Poultry 24% Starter Feed. I thought I had read the back of the bag correctly but realized tonight that I didn't. This feed is recommended for game birds such as turkey and quail. I have been feeding this to the chicks for two weeks now. How bad is it for them? Do I need to stop feeding it to them right away or will it be alright to continue with this feed considering I still have half a bag left. Apparently, the recommended feed for chicks is the 20% starter.
    on another note...I was going to start added grit to their diet now that they are two weeks old. Is that alright or do I need to wait?

2. dazluv1977

Jun 23, 2017
    Adams, Tennessee
    I just had a thought...should I purchase a bag of the 20% and give the chicks a mix of the two?
    This is the product info for the 24%:
    This high protein DuMOR Chick Starter 24% Feed is a complete crumble formula for starting turkey and game bird chicks such as quail, pheasant and chukar, which have very high nutritional requirements early in life. Premium nutrition during this early stage of life will support strong skeletal growth, proper muscle development, beautiful feathering and will get birds off to a healthy start.

• 24% protein rich in essential amino acids
    • Easily eaten even by tiny quail chicks
    Guaranteed Analysis:
    Crude Protein (min.) 24.00%, Crude Fat (min.) 2.50%, Lysine (min.) 1.35%, Methionine (min.) .50%, Crude Fiber (max.) 4.50%, Calcium (Ca) (min.) 1.00%, Calcium (Ca) (max.) 1.50%, Phosphorus (P) (min.) .80%, Salt (NaCl) (min.) .25%, Salt (NaCl) (max.) .75%, Ruminant meat and bone meal free.
    Feeding Instructions: