Feeding chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Tlco, Sep 6, 2016.

1. Tlco

Tlco Out Of The Brooder

Sep 5, 2016
    Buffalo tx
    [​IMG]

I work in a restaurant we throw away a lot of fresh spinach,kale and Romaine lettuce that is still good. Is it okay to offer these greens to these new babies? Should I chop up I feed them grow non medicated. Would they need oyster she'll to help "chew" it up?

Last edited: Sep 6, 2016
  2. RoseMary12

RoseMary12 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 2, 2016
    Kansas City, Missouri
    How old are they? If they are pretty young, I'd wait to give it to them, but if they are at least three weeks old, start giving them grit (gravel or sand--you should be able to find it at your local feed store) and you can definitely give it to them, but probably give them a bit at a time so if they don't like it you're not wasting the greens.

3. Tlco

Tlco Out Of The Brooder

Sep 5, 2016
    Buffalo tx
    I would say just a few days old maybe a week..got em from TS.

4. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas