Feeding grit

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by luvmybirdz, Sep 28, 2011.

1. luvmybirdz

luvmybirdz Out Of The Brooder

Sep 11, 2011
    I'm new to chicken keeping. I got 2 roosters at the fair (about 5 months old) I haven't yet given them any grit and plan to in the next day or so. What would tell me they were having any issues from me not having given them any grit since I've had them? I just want to be sure I've not harmed them at all. I have stopped giving them any extra treats until they have their grit. Also, is feeding scratch grain necessary, outside of their ususal feed? Just trying to figure all this out. Thanks!

2. Bear Foot Farm

Bear Foot Farm Overrun With Chickens

Mar 31, 2008
    Grifton NC
    If they have access to the ground, they probably don't need any grit

Scratch is just a cheap feed, and isn't "needed" at all

Just trying to figure all this out

It doesn't have to be complicated
    People have raised chickens for thousands of years without doing more them feeding them, and giving them a safe, dry place to sleep​

3. luvmybirdz

Sep 11, 2011
    Thanks [​IMG] So many ppl do so many diff. things. I am learning LOTS on here. I didn't think scratch grain was really necessary. All I give them so far is their crumble. Lately, I've been learning the diff things they can have as treats. With my cooking they've gotten some squash shells to pick off of, a couple small pieces of canteloup from the garden and some other veggies. I didn't realize the importance of the grit. I have only started letting them roam a bit the last 2 days and they are loving all the grass and bugs. They seem to have sort of runny poo. I wondered if this was from me feeding them the other foods and not the grit.

4. sjmarshall87

sjmarshall87 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2011
    Carthage