1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

feeding kitchen scraps

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by RedReiner, Nov 21, 2010.

1. RedReiner

RedReiner Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2010
    Monroe, Wa
    I am new to chickens, have been reading through all the posts here and having a good time learning. I had no idea chickens would eat just about anything! Anyway I have 3 blue orps and have been saving my trimmings from veggies and stuff for them, they dont eat it... are they just daft? or havent learned to like it yet lol. I got them to eat tomatos but they wouldnt touch broccoli or the corn on the cob. Cottage cheese made the little craZY hen look at me like I tried to poison her. do they eventually figure out this stuff is what all the rest of the chickens in the world eat? or are they just picky? They do have layer pellets and once a day scratch. a small handful of wet cob is a favorite too. and bread... the little craZY hen can jump chest high to get it before anyone else does. they love that. but not their veggies. sheesh you would think they were picky little kids!!

2. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

They are afraid of new things. Might take awhile for them to figure out you are not poisoning them.

Imp

3. HorizonSon

HorizonSon Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2010
    Pacific NW
    Using the same brightly colored container for their treats each time should help [​IMG]

4. RedReiner

Nov 7, 2010
    Monroe, Wa
    They do try the new stuff, peck at it a little, either eat or ignore it. They also will leave the cracked corn out of their scratch. they prefer the cracked wheat lol. I am thinking I have chickens with exquisite taste!

5. Kassaundra

Kassaundra Sonic screwdrivers are cool!

Sep 1, 2010
    Henryetta