Feeding Meat....How Much, How Often...??

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by TwoCrows, Nov 1, 2013.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    My small flock of Black Australorps of 2 1/2 years old is going thru their annual fall molt. At least most of them are. It is a blizzard of feathers in the coop and run and I do my best to keep them all picked up, however I cannot be with them 24/7 to pick up every feather that falls.

I noticed over this past week that several of the chickens are eating these fallen feathers. They are on a 16% protein diet and never in the past have I seen them eat feathers before, and never have they exhibited symptoms of lacking in protein during a molt or any other time of year. On this note, I have never tried feeding them meat before. I take it they are indeed lacking in protein at this time what with eating feathers, so I figured what the heck, and I cooked up some raw ground Turkey. Just a handful of it as I really didn't think they would eat it, the scaredy babies that they seem to be of new foods.

So I sprinkled the cooked meat on a plate and took it out to them. HOLY CROW! It was like watching piranhas feed!!! Had I left my hand in there, no doubt they would have eaten it too!!!

So, my question is, how much of this cooked Turkey is safe to feed them during this molting season and how often can I feed it to them?

Thanks so much!

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon