1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Feeding medicated feed to chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by mustangsaguaro, Jan 3, 2008.

1. mustangsaguaro

mustangsaguaro Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2007
    San Martin, Ca
    I have noticed that many of you feed medicated feed to your growing chicks. What is the purpose of this?

I am fairly new to chickens (about 7 months) and the property I live on the previous tennant left a few of his chickens on his property. When hubby and I found them there was a hen and 10 little babies. Since I new nothing about chickens at that time I basically let the hen rear her own babies. I did give them food and water, but they had access to free range during the day. I did not give any medicated feed to them or vaccinate them.

In the future my husband and I possibly plan to raise chicks/chickens to sell and for their eggs. Is giving medicated feed and vaccinating necessary, if so why? My babies are now almost 8 months old (have only 1 left as I sold a few, and traded a few for some different breeds). My babies grew into very healthy birds. The guy that I traded w/ yesterday commented on healthy my birds were.

I like to do things in a more natural/wholistic approach. I don't like to give my animals a lot of chemicals, and I worm only naturally (I don't use chemical wormers), and am against vaccinating. I do give my animals nosodes (homeopathic vaccines) instead of regular vaccines.

2. chicken crazy

chicken crazy Out Of The Brooder