Feeding pigs

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by Red Tie, Aug 31, 2008.

1. Red Tie

Red Tie Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2008
    Metamora, MI
    Okay, so I am getting five pigs for 200.00. About 25 lbs. each. Hopefully, that sounds like a good price!

My question is, does anyone have a ball park figure of the cost to feed these guys to slaughter weight? About how much is a bag of pig feed cost these days? I have two other couples who are in on this with me. Each of us wants a half a pig, we will sell the other halves off. This is the first time in about 30 years that I have done pigs. Talk about out of practice.....

Thank you all for any help you can provide!

Jane

2. boilerjoe_96

boilerjoe_96 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2007
    West Lafayette, IN
    A lot of that depends on the pig. Different breeds have different characteristics. That being said I am no expert.

i am raising my first two pigs this year. They are ready for slaughter..(well 1 more so than the other).

My white pig, is a altered boy, a barrow, he was 10 lbs on 4/13 and is now 280. My red pig, a girl(gilt) is a duroc (I think) and is closer to 220.

I believe I have about 650 lbs(each) or so of feed in them including 100 lbs still in the bag in barn.

Here a bag of feed at the Co-op is 10.25 for 50 lbs. At rural king or Tractor Supply a 50lb bag is more like 13.50.

I also cut hay so i hand pick alfalfa and throw into them almost daily. I have thrown in 6, 5 gallon buckets of apple drops as well. All in all I have not fed table scraps(maybe a few here or there).

I originally planned about 140 or 150 in food, and should come close to that. The only reason I will run over is I didn't call early enough to get on the butchers schedule(see post further down the thread). Be sure you call 2 - 3 months in advance. My slaughter date is now 9/30... Boy should be 320 or so and girl should be 240 - 245 ish...

Last edited: Aug 31, 2008
  3. goldensunriseranch