Feeding warm food in the mornings

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by shetoe, Jan 6, 2014.

1. shetoe

shetoe Out Of The Brooder

Dec 9, 2013
    Denver NC
    If I feed warm oatmeal,soups,noodles etc.... on cold mornings to my girls when do I feed them there regular grains. Right after? Wait a few hours? I am a newbie to raising chickens.Got my first in May of last year(2013).Thanks for any help or answers that come my way.

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe True BYC Addict

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    A lot of people feed oatmeal in the morning. Make sure those warm morning things are not detracting from the actual nutrition the chickens need. The oatmeal would replace the scratch grains. The noodles don't add much. They could be too much salt, too low in protein and little in the way of vitamins. Grains and treats should be no more than 10% of the diet. After you learn more about chicken nutritional needs, you can supplement more of the appropriate things. Growing chicks need at least 18% protein and laying hens about 16% so if you add things that are low in protein like scratch grains, they won't be getting enough protein.

I don't know where you're located so I don't know what you consider cold.

When the weather is freezing here, I do make sure they have warm water. I sprout their grains (ups the nutrients) and keep the sprouts warm in the house till I feed them.
    I like to let the birds fill up with their chicken feed first thing in the morning so I know they're getting appropriate nutrition.
    If given the choice, they'll eat exclusively cracked corn and noodles. However that wouldn't benefit them in the long run.