1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Feeding when not in laying season

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by tmcoulombe, Sep 18, 2016.

1. tmcoulombe

tmcoulombe New Egg

Aug 16, 2016
    I am new to chicken (since March) and have 6 hens laying and am curious whether the should stay on layer feed in their "off season"? I am a nurse but for people and don't want to create any kidney issues

2. CluckerCottage

CluckerCottage Chillin' With My Peeps

Hens don't stop laying throughout the winter-- they just slow down if there's no artificial lighting.
    If they're on layer feed now, there's no reason to change it according to the season. Their kidneys will not suffer from excess calcium.
    Also, try to feed them fresh fruits and veggies during the winter months.
    Tuna, black oil sunflower seeds, scrambled eggs are other great foods for them.
    Best wishes,
    CluckerCottage

3. Den in Penn

Den in Penn Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2011
    SE Pa.
    Welcome to BYC
    Those who are cautious about it tend to go to a calcium low feed year round and put out a calcium supplement for those who need it.

4. tmcoulombe

tmcoulombe New Egg

Aug 16, 2016
    Thank You.
    Our chickie kids are already getting the fruits and veggies but will add other shortly. My husband is already teasing me for bringing home "goodies" for chickens every time I go to the store but forgetting him so he will have even more fun.

5. Folly's place

Folly's place Overrun With Chickens

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan