Feeding wild birds

Discussion in 'Hobbies' started by Jennyhaschicks, Nov 22, 2008.

1. Jennyhaschicks

Jennyhaschicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2008
    Maine
    Does anyone else feed wild birds?
    I am new to this and only have one bird feeder as of now. I know this is not a great idea,but I throw a lot of feed down on the ground. I get crows and the number of crows keeps increasing by the day. They obviously don't let the smaller birds near the food. Should I stop throwing the food on the ground? If I go strictly to above ground feeders will that deter the crows from visiting? Will I always have crows?
    Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Queen Scoot

Queen Scoot Crochet Chieftess

May 27, 2008
    HOOKERVILLE!!!
    more than 1 feeder would be idea!! as then the other smaller birds would have food too. i feed year round and have about 7-10 feeders full plus the hummingbirds in the spring/summer. we dont get many crows at all the feeders,just certain ones. i too put food on the ground for the mourning doves,cardinals,and the shyer birds. hope this helps! and enjoy!!!

3. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado
    I hang out suet cakes outside my office window. LOTS of finches.

4. Tiramisu

Tiramisu Got Mutts

May 3, 2008
    Milan PA
    yes we do. Sorry I do not know what to do about the crows, if we get one it like ooh we got a crow or we do the same thing if we get a pigeon. Earlier this week we had a flock of cedar waxwings, about 12 robins, a flicker, and gold finches. We have one pole feeder with 4 arms/hangers for feeders, which are a suet cage, black oil seed feeder, thistle feeder and a regular bird seed feeder. I also like to throw bird seed on the gound.

5. JayBird+16

JayBird+16 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2008
    Fitzwilliam, NH
    We feed the birds and have about 5 feeder & suet cakes.
    We don’t have a crow problem – we get them every once and a while and I enjoy watching them.