1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Fees and coop question

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Duckfuzz, Apr 21, 2017.

1. Duckfuzz

Duckfuzz Just Hatched

Apr 2, 2017
    Southern Colorado
    So I am new to this I have 2 five week old Perkins. I am feeding purina flock raiser. I have seen people say they feed this the whole life of a duck. I have also read all of the protein recommendations. It has 20% protein. Can I keep feeding this? Or should I find something with less protein?

Second question on coop building. I am finishing their outdoor housing this weekend. I am building a hoop coop that I found plans for here on BYC. I have read about people burying hardware cloth 2 feet deep all the way around. Others say a skirt just below ground level is fine. I live in southern Colorado and have coons, coyotes, foxes, snakes (rattle and bull) in the area. What are your experiences and opinions? Thank you all so much!! I have spent so many hours on here after an impulse duck purchase. I have learned so much from all of you already.

Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  2. Duckfuzz

Duckfuzz Just Hatched

Apr 2, 2017
    Southern Colorado
    Anybody?

3. TLWR

TLWR Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    southern AL
    flock raiser should be fine. If they are all girls, you can swap to chicken layer food.

As for your coop - depends on what you want to do. I laid down a 2' wide apron around the pen and covered that with sod.

4. Duckfuzz

Duckfuzz Just Hatched

Apr 2, 2017
    Southern Colorado
    I like the apron idea just wondered which was more secure. If I don't have to dig that would be preferred!

5. TLWR

TLWR Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    southern AL