Female Runner Duck laying deformed eggs... advice needed?

SweetBlossom

Hatching
5 Years
Oct 6, 2014
Hi there, I am relatively new to owning ducks and have had a little bit of "duck drama" recently.

I got a couple of "Indian runner" ducklings back in April, Blossom and Daisy, aged 10 days. All fine, grew up nice and healthy, turned out Daisy was in fact a Donald and at about 4 months, August 9th in fact. Blossom laid her first egg.

From then on Donald started to become quite aggressive towards my mum and myself, which we were told is quite common amongst Drakes who had been hand reared but he was also becoming increasingly aggressive towards Blossom our female. So much so, she became terrified of going in the pond and would panic if she fell in. We were told this may be because they are in fact brother and sister as this is quite unusual behaviour between a male and female duck?

So we decided we would have to let Donald go and he's just up the road on a lovely farm with other ducks, chickens, goats etc and has settled in well. We go and see him often.

Once we started looking for another female as company for Blossom we realised that our ducks were most likely a cross. Look like 'Blue Magpie Runner' but not as slim? We're not sure but they're beautiful anyway. We found a "female" runner close by who is a little younger than Blossom, thought great! Got her home and turns out Lily is a Lionel. Another drake! The people we bought him off refused to believe he was a male as he had not yet go his curly tail feather but you could definitely hear the rasp in his voice. So he couldn't go back there and I wouldn't have taken him for fear he'd be fattened up for Christmas anyway!