Fencing Size/Gauge Question

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by KellyGwen, May 6, 2008.

1. KellyGwen

KellyGwen Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2008
    Lake Luzerne, NY
    Hi All!

I just came back from our local feed/supply store with my welded wire fence. I really wanted to get the 1x2 (6' tall) but it was REALLY expensive! So I got 2x4 instead (half the price!!)... How long should I wait until I let my babies out in that? Will they be able to squeeze through??? This is my first time building a run/coop... I didn't want to use "poultry net" aka chicken wire because I was afraid of dogs/raccoons ripping through it... I am still planning on installing a "skirt" of chicken wire at the base of the fence to prevent digging.

Thanks!!!
    Kelly

P.S. My peeps aren't even here yet!! [​IMG] They are being shipped on Monday! [​IMG]

2. KellyGwen

Apr 28, 2008
    Lake Luzerne, NY
    Anyone?
    [​IMG]

3. peruvian_princess

peruvian_princess Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2008
    Fayetteville, Georgia
    Sorry I cant help you on this one since i used chicken wire LOL!

4. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

I use the 2x4 welded wire and then line the bottom 2 or 3 feet with either chicken wire or hardware cloth. I prefer the hardware cloth because it's studier.

5. KellyGwen

Apr 28, 2008
    Lake Luzerne, NY
    Peruvian_princess... haha.. thanks anyway! [​IMG]

Katy... Thanks! That's what I was thinking of doing, I just wanted to run it by someone who has used it. [​IMG]

Thanks girls!! [​IMG]

6. peruvian_princess

peruvian_princess Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2008
    Fayetteville, Georgia
    Your welcome even though it wasnt much help [​IMG]

7. MSP

MSP Out Of The Brooder

May 1, 2008
    Mississippi
    I used the welded wire on my duck run/house.