fermented food

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by lsutigers1809, Mar 11, 2013.

1. lsutigers1809

lsutigers1809 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 4, 2013
    louisian
    Hi this is my first year with chickens i have 10 about 5 mo and 24 bout 2 weeks i notice lot of people talking aboutfeeding Chickens Fermented Food and was wondering ifthat is something l should be doing. Also if it is what kind of fermented Food and how do l Ferment the Food

2. Hatch N Eggs

Hatch N Eggs Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2013
    Johnston Co, NC
    My Coop
    It's really a matter of whether you would like to go that route or not. I personally do, with both my adult birds and my chicks. I feel that it's healthier for them. I have an adult flock of about 50 birds and a "juvenile flock" of about 40. I use a basic layer feed and mix it with cracked corn in the cold months, scratch grain in the warmer months. For my chicks I use chick feed instead of layer feed. Below is how I do my feed, but remember everyone has their own recipe. If you decide to go with it, good luck and have fun! I've also noticed my feed bill drop drastically from feeding FF rather than basic feeds, and there is virtually no waste at all.

What you will need:
    • 2 Large Containers
    • Water
    • Drill (or something to make drain holes)
    • Whole Garlic (3 cloves cleaned)
    • Layer feed
    • Scratch Grain or Cracked Corn
    • Apple Cider Vinegar with “Mother” (@1/2 cup)
    • Sunflower seeds (both regular and black oil) @1cup
    • DE (Diatomaceous Earth-Food Grade) @1/4 cup
    • Flax Seed @1 cup
    • Millet seed ( I also use Wild Bird seed which can contain BO Sunflower seeds) @2cups
    • Pumpkin Seeds @1/2 cup
    • Molasses @1/2 cup
    • Oregano @ ¼ cup
    • Finely crushed egg shells @1/4 cup

Take one large container and drill drain holes in the bottom, place it inside the other container.