fertilizing my garden, plants and grass

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by shescraftee, Jul 27, 2011.

1. shescraftee

shescraftee New Egg

May 12, 2011
    I am the proud owner of 5 beautiful hens (one Rhode Island Red, 2 Buff Orpington, 1 Barred Rock & 1 Silver laced Wyandotte) i have them in my urban lot and let them free range daily on grass - i also pull off Kale & spinach leaves from my raised garden beds for them to eat. My question is.... i would like to put some Organic Fertilizer on the plants, could this be harmful to the chickens (say if i use the pellets??) Should i keep them away completely of these fertilized areas, does it pose a health risk? THANKS SO MUCH IN ADVANCE FOR THE ADVISE!
    Sincerely,
    Happy Backyard Chicken Lady [​IMG]

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    I am no fertilizer expert but tend to lean towards simple versus complicated. Since chicken poop is a great natural fertilizer, and my girls free-range, I don't add any other chemicals - organic or otherwise - to my yard. I will say that the backyard, where they free-range, is much greener than the front yard where they don't, even though I haven't watered either in this brutal summer we've had, so I can see the difference the poop makes.

3. jomoncon

jomoncon Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2010
    New Orleans, LA
    Quote:I have just the opposite. My front yard is greener than where they do free range in the back. But that might be because where they free range has NO grass at all!!

4. Mogli

Mogli Chillin' With My Peeps

i put my chicken poop on my garden and ive harevested lots of veggies after using there pooo on the garden:)

5. duckinnut

duckinnut Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2010
    Marshfield, Ma.