fiesty leghorn and fertilization question--please advise!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by btpeters, Aug 26, 2007.

1. btpeters

btpeters In the Brooder

Aug 26, 2007
    Grafton Ohio
    hello!
    i am a newbie to this site, but sooo thankful for all i have learned so far.smile

we have 6 hens--pullets--that get along great. tonight we purchased a few more at the fair. we ended up with 2 docile white cochin hens and one fiesty leghorn hen. we put them altogether in the coop after the 6 were asleep, but the leghorn is in a cat carrier b/c we aren't sure how she'll be in the morning. so....any advice on how to go about making sure the other girls don't get pecked on in the morning?

also, do you think we can just let them all roam around the yard with the others all day and assume they will come back?? we live on 3 acres and somehow the first batch always knew where our property was and would always come back.

one more question that i'm really curious about. ... we have no rooster at this point. is it possible that these hens from the fair, who came from a farm with many roosters, are prego?roll? i apologize if this is an incredibly stupid question, but i would assume that is possible, and that if we left the eggs for them to sit on, we could get little chicks at some point??? is there any way to know if the eggs have been fertilized or not? how long after a hen has been with a rooster could her eggs still possibly be fertilized? hope this makes sense. i'm kind of excited at the possibility of having some eggs hatch!

thanks for any help you have time to give!! brittany

2. rooster-red

rooster-red Here comes the Rooster

Jun 10, 2007
    Douglasville GA
    Hi,
    It is remotely possible for a hen to lay a fertilized egg for up to around 2 weeks after last mating.

Unless you have a broody hen that will sit on those eggs, chances of them hatching are 0.

How old are they?

3. rooster-red

rooster-red Here comes the Rooster