Finally! (And egg questons)

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by kraftykrow, Jun 15, 2019.

1. kraftykrow

kraftykrow Chirping

Apr 24, 2019
    Indiana, USA
    Our first ever egg! Despite being a complete newbie I actually was able to predict our Hennessy was about to lay. She was acting strangely that morning.
    Then that afternoon, egg!

Question: we're aren't planing on having more chickens, so I was wanting some advice on storage. Some ppl have told me not refrigerating the eggs helps them stay fresh longer. Is this true? What's the normal shelf life of a REAL egg? I know I could Google all this but everyone had been so helpful here. Any other tips and tricks are help!

Yay! I have an egg!

Attached Files:

2. EggSighted4Life

EggSighted4Life Free Ranging

Hi there... I just love barred Rocks! :love

Let me give you the real down low on egg storage. :old

Fresh unwashed eggs CAN be stored at room temp. BUT they lose freshness (not the same as rotting) at a rate of 7 times faster than being stored in the fridge. One day on the counter is equal to a week in the fridge. Left longer... as in 3 months at 70 degrees... :oops: the evaporation that takes place makes the eggs thick and sticky inside. Those that had little invisible cracks will be rotten by this time and sticky maybe even oozing.

By this (7 times faster thing) I mean the white and yolk become thinner faster. Which makes them pop easier when you drop them in a pan for frying... making for more accidentally scrambled eggs.

So if you are eating the eggs immediately... counter top is fine. If you want fresh eggs longer refrigerate!