Finally! I'm in the BYC!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Year of the Rooster, Jun 27, 2008.

1. Year of the Rooster

Year of the Rooster Sebright Savvy

Jun 27, 2008
    West Central Ohio
    Hi as u can see i'm new to the byc and i'm excited! i'm glad to say that i'm a chicken addict. :] Anyway, I've been reading this site for about two months now (wow talk about stalking lol) and I have learned A LOT!! and now i have some questions but they're all mixed subjects so i thought i would post here. ok here it goes:

1.) I've already decided what chickens i want but it was a tough decision: 1 BR, 1 RIR, 1 EE, 1 Australorp, 1 Buff Brahma, 2 White Silkies, and 2 Golden Sebrights (1 hen 1 roo). What are your experiences with these breeds? I've read a lot about sebrights and I DEFINITELY want one :]. I plan on showing some of them because i've been in 4H before and i really enjoyed it. Also what are the roos like for sebrights? Are they loud?

2.) The coop that i plan on building is going to be a two story coop. I've seen your Coop section and I love all the designs. I have seen two story coops that have the bottom part open or both open, but what if both levels were closed? Almost like a house maybe? I'm going to have windows on both levels for ventilation. I might build a small 3x3 coop next to it for my sebright pair.

3.)This may not be good, but we have our grass treated with fertilizer and pesticides about 5 times a year. I read another post about how thats not good but i love chickens too much T_T Any advice here?

4.)I want to order my chicks from My Pet Chicken, would u reccomend this hatchery? I'm just worried that they won't have what I want/need at the same time =/

Thanks to all BYC members! [​IMG]

2. Linda in San Diego

Linda in San Diego Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2008
    San Diego
    Welcome to BYC. I have no answers for you, but hopefully someone who does will read your post soon.

3. SundownWaterfowl