Fingers Crossed: We're hoping for girls!!!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by JeffNBeccasChicks, May 10, 2008.

1. JeffNBeccasChicks

JeffNBeccasChicks New Egg

May 10, 2008
    We have three chicks who are about six weeks old. One is a Rhode Island Red, one is a Barred Rock and the other is an Araucana. We haven't heard any crowing yet but are getting nervous that they might not all be girls. We're hoping that fellow chicken posters may have ideas or conclusions.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Any help will be greatly appreciated! We are definitely hoping for all girls! [​IMG]
    Thanks in advance...
    Jeff and Becca (and the girls?!)

2. Josie

Josie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 3, 2008
    California
    I am no expert, but those look like girls to me!

3. mmajw

mmajw Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2008
    Maine
    They all look like ladies to me. Can you get a side pic of the Araucana? She looks exactly like my "pretty girl" (son named her).

The BR would be lighter if she was a he. The RIR would have a larger comb. The Araucana would also have a tail that stood straighter and pointy.

4. SeaChick

SeaChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2007
    Southern Maine
    No offense (and please correct me if I'm wrong) but I believe if it was an Araucana it would not HAVE a tail, as they are "rumpless" birds, right? A lot of hatcheries call Easter Eggers (which are crosses with Ameraucana-type birds, and gorgeous birds, we have several ourselves!) either Ameraucana or Araucana, but those two breeds are actually pretty rare and have very specific characteristics and colors they must conform to. Unless you buy from an actual breeder (i.e. not a hatchery) you're likely to have Easter Eggers.