Finishing my coop, need some feedback from the BYC community-

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by JeremyD, Mar 29, 2017.

1. JeremyD

JeremyD New Egg

Mar 27, 2017
    Hi all,

I am brand new to BYC and to chickens in general. My family and I have wanted chickens for a few years and finally pulled the trigger.

I received a free rabbit hutch from a friend and have spent the last few days modifying it for the girls. I would like some feedback on any flaws or things you see that may be an issue for the chickens, maintenance or safety

We plan on keeping 4 chicken. They will spend 75% of the time in the coop/run and 25% freeranging around our house.

This has 3 nest boxes, two perches and 4 vents with shudders ( I used some old HVAC floor vents)

Please let me know what you all think and advise you may have to make this the best it can be for the flock!

FYI- I plan on putting a mat on the coop floor and linoleum on the coop walls and one more run addition like the red one pictured.

Thanks- Jeremy

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Dmontgomery

Dmontgomery Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Apr 1, 2014
    Longville, La
    Lucky you. Congratulations on getting a free coop. It looks brand new!
    What are the dimensions? It looks like they have enough room for roosting/sleeping, but the run looks a little small even with the addition. With only 4 it shouldn't be too bad though.
    What is your climate like? If you are in an area that gets pretty hot, you will need to keep the vents open and it might not hurt to cut some windows and cover them with hardware cloth to get more ventilation.
    It looks like you did a good job on the nesting boxes too. I don't figure that was part of the rabbit hutch.

3. ChxLadyCass

ChxLadyCass Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2017
    La Junta, CO