Fire Ants

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by tntpeeps, Nov 20, 2010.

1. tntpeeps

tntpeeps New Egg

Sep 18, 2010
    I am EXTREMELY new to Chick'n rais'n and have a question before i buy....
    we live in south texas where there are ALOT of fire ants, and i want to know if it is ok to use fire ant granules (poison) where the peeps are going to be???? someone told me not to use it, and that the cks will eat all the ants anyway....I already have the coop and feed, feeders, etc.....just waiting on the pullet arrival.....but dont want to contaminate the yard w/the granules if it is a danger to new arrivals.....
    thanks!!!

2. sunflowerenvy

sunflowerenvy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2010
    south/west tn
    i would not used it around any kind of pountry they will eat when they are adult just flood the area where u want to keep them.
    my thought is any thing that chicken will be in contract with i would i eat it too. i get enough poison in other ways in my life.

3. rufus

rufus Overrun With Chickens

May 17, 2007
    If you are thinking of using those Mirex granuales I wouldn't. The poison is soaked into ground up corn cobs.

Ants can be a real pain. Here in Arizona, we have those little black ants that get into everything. Some years are worse than others, it all depends upon when and if we get rains.

However, we discovered that they do not like to crawl on black rubber. I don't know why, but they don't. We put all of our feeders up on old cut up inner tubes and tires.

Try it and see if it works with fire ants.

Rufus

4. tntpeeps

tntpeeps New Egg

Sep 18, 2010
    thanks, for the input....i will use the black rubber aound the feeders and see if i can find an organic route to gettin rid of those pesky stingin rascals!!!![​IMG]

5. al6517

al6517 Real Men can Cook

May 13, 2008
    Think about getting a Guiney, that bird can wipe out the ant population in no time flat and will get along fine with your Peeps.

AL