Fire Ants

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by firebugfab, May 17, 2008.

1. firebugfab

firebugfab Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2008
    Texas
    I am new to the wonderful hobby of raising chickens. I have 2, 10 week old RIR's that have recently moved into the back yard. They have a house along with a completely fenced run but my kiddos love to let them out to roam the yard and play with them during the day.

Today we had a yard full of kiddos and they and the chickens were playing up a storm when I noticed a large fire ant bed near the swingset. Well I just headed towards the garage to grab the bag of ant poison when it dawned on me that it sure looks a lot like the starter food. Hmmm...bad idea.

SO what the heck to I kill fire ants with now? I need to kill the little pests and here in East Texas, that's a never ending battle.

2. countryatheart

countryatheart Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2008
    Victoria, TX
    I have used straight vinegar in a spray bottle to kill ants before! That wouldn't kill the mound though, just those it hit directly. What about diatomaceous earth? I don't know that much about it, but it is safe if the "food" safe variety is used. You could also sprinkle a fairly small amount of the fire ant granules and keep the chickens penned up until the granules are carried into the mound. I don't think it takes all that long!

3. spatcher

spatcher Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2008
    Virginia - Southside
    Have you tried DE?

4. firebugfab

firebugfab Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2008
    Texas
    I have not tried DE. I'll look into it and try to vinegar for a quick fix. Thanks!

5. Kentucky

Kentucky Out Of The Brooder

Apr 16, 2008
    firebugfab:

I used to know a guy who lived just north of Houston, that would pile up dead leaves, grass or straw over the mound 2' to 3' high and lite it up.

He also said that if you took a shovel full from two mounds and swapped it they would kill each other.