1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

First Aid Kit

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by MyPaperMoon512, Dec 20, 2013.

1. MyPaperMoon512

MyPaperMoon512 Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm new to raising chickens, and I was wondering if I need to have an emergency first aid kit, and if so, what would be items that are must haves?

Do you keep medications on hand for worms, etc.? I want to keep my girls as happy and healthy as possible.

Thanks!

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    You can have a few or many things in your first aid kit. For meds, I would recommend Corid (amprollium) either a packet of powder or small bottle of liquid to treat coccidiosis. For worms, Safeguard Liquid Goat wormer or horse paste, or for more money, Valbazen. It also gets tapeworm which isn't always needed. BluKote for spraying wounds to color them blue to prevent pecking and for antiseptic/antifungal. Neosporin or other brand of antibiotic ointment for wounds. Tylan50 injection with a few 22 gauge needles and syringes. Vet wrap and some gauze 2X2's for wounds or bumblefoot. Iodine (Povidone is good) or hibiclens for cleaning wounds.

Last edited: Dec 20, 2013
  3. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    Even though it's banned for use in food animals, I would suggest having a small bottle of generic 10% Baytril, it's probably one of the best broad-spectrum antibiotics and it can be used on cats and dogs, too. It is a *must* have for me and you should be able to get a small bottle without a prescription for about $20.

Safeguard (10% Fenbendazole) and Corid liquid are also must haves.

-Kathy

Last edited: Dec 20, 2013