1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

First Attempt at Incubating Underway - UPDATE - Operation: Booties

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mischievouschickens, Oct 26, 2009.

1. mischievouschickens

mischievouschickens Out Of The Brooder

Oct 6, 2009
    So I am a complete newbie and making my first attempt at incubating and hatching our very chicks. We already have chicks (oldest is ~7 weeks old and youngest are 3 weeks old) but we would like our daughter to see "where chicks come from"!

We set the incubator earlier last week to let it stabilize and put in 39 eggs yesterday. 17 are from kathyinmo (thank you again Kathy!) and 12 are fertile eggs from Trader Joe's. We've heard others being successful with TJ's eggs so we thought we'd give it a shot as well - anything to help increase our chances of something hatching 3 weeks from now. The TJ's eggs were 11 days old, laid on Calendar Day 286 - October 13 according to our calculations. Hopefully, not too old to still have a successful hatch. [​IMG] You can bet that we're going to learn a lot from this experience. Keeping a log of everything! [​IMG] By the way, kathyinmo originally sent 18 eggs, but after candling and upon closer examination, one was cracked. Unfortunately, we had to let it go before even started. [​IMG]