First batch of meaties! I'm so proud of myself for taking the plunge

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Nofi's Nest, Aug 20, 2010.

1. Nofi's Nest

Nofi's Nest Out Of The Brooder

Mar 30, 2010
    North East Georgia
    I'm a newbie for the most part. I've had egg layers for a year and a half. I enjoy my chickens so much and I finally decided I need to take the next step to self sufficiency and ordered my first batch of Cornish crosses. Got them yesterday. I am excited about this new adventure and very proud of myself. I really appreciate all the information I have learned on this forum. Because of you all ,I know I can do this. Thanks![​IMG]

2. stanglover2001

stanglover2001 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2010
    [​IMG] [​IMG] yay for you!!!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

3. Boondock Saint

Boondock Saint New Egg

Aug 20, 2010
    Connersville, Indiana
    We bought our first batch of chickens in March this year and between to good to pass up deals and people giving us there easter chickens, [because the darnedes thing they get bigger] we ended up with right @ 50 chickens... Well through a few death by random things we ended up with 36+ chickens. We sent 16 of them to freezer camp [most were Roosters] and that leaves us with 20 laying hens that are starting to lay now...

This has been the best experience of my life. I love our chickens... and the eggs are amazing so much better than the store, plus the chickens we harvested taste so much better than the store factory farm chickens...

We are getting ready to start raising cornish cross chickens ourselves and we are so excited about it.... a hint I heard: @5 days old start feeding the chicks for 12 hour and then let them go with out for 12 hours on this feeding schedule. If you do this it will keep them from having a heart attack for they grow so fast.