First Broody Hatch due this weekend!!!

jadeybaby70

In the Brooder
10 Years
Jul 10, 2009
Alameda
So my little silkie went broody like two months ago and I tried everything to get her to quit. She even sat on ice cubes for three hours one time!! I was afraid her toes were frozen but she ended up being just fine. Well, after a month of this behavior and bring food and water to her two-three time a day to prevent her from dying (the girls would not let her come out, even to eat), I gave in and bought her some fertile eggs. I placed them under her two Saturdays ago and I am expecting the babies this weekend. This is my first time letting a broody hatch eggs and I have some questions. First; I spent all day preparing her broody pen which is a wire dog crate placed in the big run which I attached 1/2in wire cloth in a border along the bottom to keep the babies from escaping and getting hurt by the big girls. I figured, if she can't defend herself against the big girls, she most likely can't defend her babies against them. So, our best bet was to keep her in sight of them but out of reach. In the pen, I covered the floor with straw. Then, I look on the forum and see that many people don't suggest using straw with chicks because they might eat it. Is this something that I should be concerned about? Should I switch it to pine shavings? And if so, what about the nesting box? I have straw in there, should that be changed too?
Second; How do I arrange the feed so mama can get her proper food and babies can get theirs without one eating the others all the time. I figured, I could hang Mama's feeder too high for the babies to reach, but how do I keep Mama from eating all the baby's food? I was also told that I need to put rocks or marbles in the water to keep the babies from drowning. If I have a shallow waterer, I don't need to do this right? The drinking lip doesn't even stick out far enough that the babies could get up on it...
Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks