First broody's eggs due to hatch this week!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tiffanya, Jun 12, 2011.

1. tiffanya

tiffanya Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    My first broody has been sitting on eggs (2 chicken, 1 duck) 21 days this Tues/Wed. As its my first time with a broody hatching eggs and I'm pretty excited! I had no luck moving her so currently am planning to block off her nesting box when they begin to hatch, then try moving her again after. We'll see how it goes!

2. 7&8

7&8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2010
    Maine
    Hey, a hatching buddy! [​IMG] It's my first broody hatch, too. #7 is on six bantam Barred Rock eggs. Last I candled, on day 10, all looked good, except for a day five or so quitter, which I removed. Like yours, mine is in a nest box off of the ground. Like yours, mine refused to be moved. So, I'm in the same boat. I'm going to wait for the first pip, then put up some deer netting to cover the front of the nest box. When the hatch is complete, I'll move the hen & chicks to a cozy, hidey spot under the nest box on the floor.

I just posted her picture in another thread where I'm asking about humidity & natural hatching.

21 days on Tuesday/Wednesday - woo-hoo!

3. Jasmine1998

Jasmine1998 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2010
    Montgomery County
    Another hatching buddy! Mine are due to hatch Thursday/Friday. My BO is sitting on 8 eggs. The rooster is a dark brahma & then hens are wither BO, GLW or BR.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  4. Crabella

Crabella Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2010
    Inland Pacific NW
    My 1st broody started hatching today, day 20. The 2nd should start Friday/Saturday, unless they only go 20 days too. Nice to have someone pacing along with me.

5. tiffanya

Jul 10, 2010