First clutch, Quail eggs, Inc day 5?

miniqoos

In the Brooder
Mar 2, 2016
UK
Hi guys and gals, I'm new here so hello everybody, I would appreciate some views of my eggs, this is my first attempt at hatching fone fertilised eggs posted from a reputable breeder. I'm using a stylofoam box with a 40w bulb with temp ranging from 35-39?, these are my eggs, a picture of each one at 5 days in the incubator? The poster did say he won't post any eggs over 3 days old so I'm wondering if the darker eggs could possibly be older eggs as there is alot of difference in these eggs? Thanks in advance for any reply much appreciated, and sorry for my poor quality pics x

First off, welcome to BYC!

I know nothing about incubating quail, but it seems like you have a huge temperature range in your incubator. if you don't have a fan, the temp should be 101-102 taken at the top of the eggs. (38-39C). If your temps are running too low, on average, eggs won't develop properly.

Good luck with your hatch, and I hope someone with more knowledge will stop by soon!

Thanks for your reply and thankyou! I've been reading plenty of threads on here and thought why not join such a lovely forum! I've heard in a still air incubator it should be at 37.7 but I've also heard of quail hatching at lower and higher temps nothing higher then 45, as this is my first ever attempt I'm not to worried as I like to learn from things and see how things go lol this is also in my homemade incubator aswell so it's all a very new experience for me :) also the temp holds steady at 38.0 come night time so fingers crossed that will be Ok

Last edited:
Are these coturnix quail? I assume so from the pics, they look like mine. Some of mine appeared darker, some even green or blue tinted inside when candling. I hatched several different colors, but didn't note if there was any correlation.

I ran at 99.5-100 (37.5-38.2) No way would I expect 45 to be safe!!

What's your humidity running?