First coop.

briank3201991

In the Brooder
Feb 3, 2016
North Carolina
Me and my soon to be wife are looking at raising some chickens, but we are lost at whre to start with building a coop. We know that we are going to end up wanting a lot of chickens down the road so dont want to start off with a small coop. We plan on starting off with 6 or so but most certainly want around 20 or so chickens and dont want to have multiple coops right away. I am not really good with building or just coming up with ideas on how to build one. If anyone could please point me in the right direction to build a simple coop that could accomidate atleast 20 chickens. It does not have to be fancy. Just plain jane is fine for right now. Also would like to get the material and start building this weekend if possible. Thank you in advance for your help.

Welcome to BYC! When we first got our chicks I spent w a y too much time looking through the COOP section of this forum. We ended up repurposing a shed we had on the property for the coop and added a run, it has served us well.

See COOPS up in the heading? Check it out.

Me and my soon to be wife are looking at raising some chickens, but we are lost at whre to start with building a coop. We know that we are going to end up wanting a lot of chickens down the road so dont want to start off with a small coop. We plan on starting off with 6 or so but most certainly want around 20 or so chickens and dont want to have multiple coops right away. I am not really good with building or just coming up with ideas on how to build one. If anyone could please point me in the right direction to build a simple coop that could accomidate atleast 20 chickens. It does not have to be fancy. Just plain jane is fine for right now. Also would like to get the material and start building this weekend if possible. Thank you in advance for your help.
I strongly suggest you spend more time researching before buying materials and starting to build.