First day candling...is there still a good chance i'll have a hatch??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by kikidee, Jun 10, 2011.

1. kikidee

kikidee Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    San Clemente
    Hello everyone [​IMG]
    This is my first attempt to hatch, and probably will be my only one if any of my eggs make it because I'm really only hatching to keep 2 ducks as pets.
    I ordered 10 Cayuga duck eggs from Metzer Farms online and they shipped me 11 (one extra). I just candled today, day 7, and 7 of the 11 were fertile and I could see movement (it looked like a heart beat?). 3 were just plain infertile and one had a blood ring. How does the duckling die so soon with the blood ring? Did I do something to kill it? [​IMG] Also, This is barely the end of week 1 and I've already lost 4 eggs due to infertility/ blood ring. Do you think I'll get at least some to hatch? [​IMG]
    -kikidee

2. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    Not to worry. I'm sure this has happened to most people to hatch. As long as your temperature and humidity stays fairly constant you should have a good hatch. Good luck hand have fun!!! [​IMG]

3. kikidee

May 30, 2011
    San Clemente
    Thanks! I hope to have more people comment.

4. Denninmi

Denninmi Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2009
    It's not unusual at all to have issues with shipped eggs -- no matter how stellar the source and how great the packaging, the shipping process itself, with all of the bouncing around and exposure to extreme conditions of heat and cold just take a toll.