First egg hatched

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dpears28, Aug 6, 2013.

1. dpears28

dpears28 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2013
    Superior, Wi
    Hi, I'm very new to this who chicken thing and have had my flock this year only. My family had discussed that if any of our hens got broody we would let her and see if things happen naturally. Well they did! Bonnie and Clyde are proud parents! :) Problem is I don't know what to do now. I have placed Bonnie (proud momma) and her remaining eggs plus the new baby in a new cage because it was the only way I could separate them but leave them in the coop with everyone else. Now I don't know how much to do or not to do from there. I'm very nervous and super excited! I'm already attached (of course) and want to do whatever is in my power to keep this baby, and possible others if they hatch, alive. Please, any help or advice you can give is much appreciated. Also if you know of a better place to post this (I'm not sure if this belonged here) please let me know that as well. Thank you!

Dani- first time chicken-er! :)

2. loveourbirds

loveourbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2013
    waverly ohio
    your best thing to do: sit on your hands and let nature run its course. you did right by separating them, the rest is up to her. if she doesn't hatch any more, you might look around for someone local selling chicks and add a couple more "playmates" she should accept them just fine.

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland