First Egg..Hurray...BR, 20 week old - Cant hold off the excitement

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by rosiethechicken, Aug 7, 2010.

1. rosiethechicken

rosiethechicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2010
    I have been waiting eagerly for last few days and complaining our BRs not laying .
    Lo and Behold, one tiny, round, beautiful egg this morning 7:30 AM and second one around 2 PM.
    Not sure if they are from same BR or different.
    All our BRs(5) freerange, but these two eggs were in the nest box, so hope others will
    follow and continue to lay in the nest boxes.

See the first tiny egg in the nest box in this picture.

Store bought (left most), second egg from afternoon and first egg from the morning, in that order

Based on size and color of two eggs, wondering if they are from same BR.
  2. pontoosuc

pontoosuc Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Richmond, MA
    Hello and congratulations!!

I'm a newbie but was reading an interesting post the other day on the miracle of the egg.
    I read that a hen takes approximately 26 hours to develop and lay an egg, so if she were
    laying each and every day, it would be 2 hours later the next day. Guess this goes till the
    afternoon, at which time the hen will wait till the next morning to lay the egg.

So if that information is correct, it would be impossible to have the same hen lay both eggs since
    it was only 7-8 hours later.

I hope that more knowledgeable people will chime in. Cannot wait for our first egg!!!
  3. mgw

mgw Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2010
    Eastern Wa.
    I doubt they came from the same girl. cograts you must be proud!![​IMG]
  4. Baymen Moe

Baymen Moe Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 17, 2009
    Pembroke, Ma.
    Out of my flock the BR's were the first to lay, congratulation's. It's a great feeling. And yes , you have two laying!
  5. fldiver97

fldiver97 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 5, 2009
    Middleton, WI