First ever loss of hen

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by mdibaugh, Mar 31, 2011.

1. mdibaugh

mdibaugh Out Of The Brooder

Apr 5, 2010
    Eaton rapids, Mi
    today we came home and found our Columbian Wyandotte dead in the run. No evidence of predators, no blood. noticed last couple of days while she was out free ranging she would lay under the picnic table and lay down for a moment here and there but nothing that I would call abnormal but I'm a newbie. She was aprox 10 months old.i havenoticed that the roo we have has been mounting all the hens and there backs are free of feathers in a small areas but im assuming this is normal. Yesterday she was free ranging normal with the others. is there anything I can give them as a precautionary measure.Eveyone else seems to be acting normally. Could our roo have killed her. The only thing that I have given them over the past few days that was abnormal was a half of stack of saltine crackers and some cantaloupe. Impacted crop maybe? I guess there are to many posibilities. Just curious on the possible precautionary measures. Any suggestions would be appreciated

2. xxIsabellaxx

xxIsabellaxx Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2011
    I would Just Keep an eye on you flock, and if you notice any strange behavior in one of you chickens isolate them.

3. crtrlovr

crtrlovr Still chillin' with my peeps