First quail hatch ever... I suck... need help please...

Discussion in 'Quail' started by WhiteMountainsRanch, Jul 25, 2011.

1. WhiteMountainsRanch

WhiteMountainsRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 19, 2010
    Sandy Eggo, CA
    I set approx 50 eggs. It's a Lyons TX6. They started hatching a couple days early. 15 hatched fine at 55% humidity. I waited until the end of the day and quickly took them all out and bumped up the humidity to about 65%, about 5 more hatched with difficulty, and now I've had about 10 more pipping but dying in the shell... some look to be shrink wrapped but only about half.

Did I shrink wrap them when I opened it the first time, or did messing with the humidity mess them up? It's my first time using this incubator and I need to know what I did wrong...

Thanks for any help!

2. Mibotsu

Mibotsu Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011
    Balbriggan, Ireland
    i have yet to deal with any of that, but i've heard alot of people saying just let nature run its course. the shrink wrap....maybe so, its called "Lockdown" for a reason, i have a pipe going from the outside of the incubator to the dish on the inside so i don't have to open it up.

all you can do is hope, if you really want, you can try and help out but be VERY careful, if you see any blood...stop

3. _Randall_

_Randall_ Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 3, 2009
    Grenada, Ms