First time and the suspense is killing me!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MommaSampson, Jan 23, 2013.

1. MommaSampson

MommaSampson Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2013
    West Virginia
    This is my first time trying to incubate eggs and I only put 4 in to start. Statistics won out and only 1 made it to day 18. I put it in lockdown on Monday and it's killing me waiting to see if this egg is going to hatch. I'm not real hopeful cause I had some varying temperature and humidity in the beginning but I still really want it to hatch. How long after 23/24 days do you wait before you know it's not going to hatch?

2. red golden

red golden Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2012
    roxboro nc
    If one is killing you. I think you might as well buy a large cabinet bator or two more small ones. Before you know it you will be posting i have just set 100 lol.

3. Sally Sunshine

Sally Sunshine Cattywampus Angel <straightens Halo> Premium Member Project Manager

Aug 23, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    My Coop
    COOL!! Have a read at the assisted hatch article in my signature... it will calm you and explain what your chick is doing in that egg.... and how long to wait to candle and tap to check viability [​IMG]

4. MommaSampson

MommaSampson Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2013
    West Virginia
    I set 10 Sunday. My husband said before he knows it I'll have the whole dining room full of incubators!

5. Sally Sunshine

Sally Sunshine Cattywampus Angel <straightens Halo> Premium Member Project Manager

Aug 23, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    My Coop
    lol true story!!

6. red golden

red golden Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2012
    roxboro nc
    yep you'll be posting in the incubators anonymous before long i knew it lol.

7. Muddy

Muddy Out Of The Brooder

Nov 6, 2009
    Alabama