First Time Broody Silkie *I am new to this*

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tnthomas29, Oct 9, 2014.

1. tnthomas29

tnthomas29 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 20, 2014
    Hi everyone....I need suggestions. Along with the rest of our standard size birds, my girls have 2 silkies and we have a rooster. One of them was laying on her egg the and would not let me have it, so I thought okay I will just get it later when she gets up. I didn't end up getting it that night but did when I went out and opened the coop in the morning and she got up and went out with the others. I could tell she had been on it most of the night because it was nice and warm. We discussed possibly doing chicks in the Spring. I feel like a egg napper...:eek:( she was so depressed, mad, yesterday seemed like she was looking for the egg. She went back in the nesting box and laid down. She has really seemed depressed ever since. So, I go out this morning and the other silkie was in the nesting box laying on an egg, but had no problem getting up and going right out. I picked up the other one and she just didn't seem to have much interest in my holding her so I put her down and she went and got in there and laid on the egg, which last I knew she still is. I went out earlier and she had actually stolen some of the other eggs that had been laid by the standard hens (would not be fertile) so I took those out. So, now what should I do....Anyone just have a chicken have one egg that they lay on to hatch, or do I need to get more fertile eggs for her?

Suggestions please. Thanks so much!

2. 16 paws

16 paws Chillin' With My Peeps

First of all you need to ask yourself a few things:

#1 Do I really want/need more chickens.
    #2 Is there somewhere that I know of to get fertile eggs of the breeds I may want?
    #3 Do I have enough space and time to give them?