First time chicken mom...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Stephie57, Jun 30, 2011.

1. Stephie57

Stephie57 New Egg

Jun 30, 2011
    Ok so I am not the mom but the grandma...either way its my first time to have a chicken with eggs under her. I got 5 fertile eggs from a friend for my brooding chicken. She has been sitting on them for 18 days...I put a flashlight to one yesterday to see what I could see..and its pretty solid looking in there...didn't see any light. From what I have seen on this site, I guess that is ok. I didn't know that I shouldn't touch them and about the big end having to be up? Tonite is the last time I messed with them ( I was collecting unfertilized eggs from under her..I have no rooster) I hope I didn't mess things up?! So...21 days will be Sunday!!! What do I do? Will they come out by themselves? Then what? I really don't want to botch this up...I AM SO EXCITED!! She won't know they aren't hers when she sees them will she? She is beautiful...not sure what kind...kind of a bluish black. See I got these birds for my 27yr old daughter for Easter...well that was 2 years ago....now they are mine! Darn kids!
    Anyways...I have several other questions but this is most important at this time..Any help will be greatly appreciated!!

Steph

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland