1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

First time Chicken Mom

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Cometsea, Mar 19, 2015.

1. Cometsea

Cometsea Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2015
    Hello, I'm Nancy in California. I am brand new to chicken but I just bought a house in the mountains with land and thought I could try my hand at Chicken Farming. I'm starting with only 6 chicks but we will see where it goes from here.
    I got my brooder built and ready, just waiting until tomorrow to get my chicks. Then I have to figure out how to build my coop. I have found many on line and at my local farm store but nothing seems quite worth the money. So I think my husband and I are going to build one. Wish us luck and, if you are so inclined, keep us in your prayers.

Happy Chickens!
    Nancy

2. NeseO

NeseO Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 15, 2014
    North California
    Very nice to meet you. Good luck. We did the same last year:) Bought a house in the Sierras and last year this time had our dog's kennel with a heat lamp set up in our living room. We started with 6 chicks and now have 8 chickens and two roos. It has been an adventure so far. From their first introductions to the outdoors to a bear break in and then their first eggs. Mystery illness to introducing teenage roos. I wish you the best experience. Im sure you won't regret it:)

3. Cometsea

Mar 14, 2015
    Thank you NeseO, it's nice to meet you too. I am looking forward to this experience.

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome, Nancy! [​IMG]I'm glad you joined our BYC "flock"!

Good luck with your future chicks! What breeds are you getting?

5. Cometsea

Mar 14, 2015