First time chicken owner in Dordogne France

dordogne chickens

In the Brooder
Aug 1, 2017
Hello Everyone
I am originally from Cavendish Vermont and now live in the south west of France.
I am new to chickens, though I have wanted them for a long time. My four hens arrived 9 days ago.
I built a new coop using and existing covered outbuilding. Their fenced run is about 40 x 15 and their coop is 8 x 8ft with a sand based floor, which I have put a roost frame, above that is a a concrete shelf across the whole width, which I put 4 nesting boxes on with straw. There is also a ladder to the shelf....so far week one, as expected was a "getting settled" week. I seem to have one hen laying eggs, mostly daily the other three don't appear to lay anything, they seem to cuddle up at night together either in the corner on the sand or squeeze into one nesting box.

I am loving my new hens but now have had no eggs for 3 days and don't understand why.
Any ideas....I've tried putting their nesting boxes down at ground level (they are locked in at night so safe) but to no avail..they don't seem to use the ladder up to the shelf but fly up there. Am I doing something wrong or perhaps its the end of laying season, or the night long thunder storm stressed them last night?

Welcome to BYC from middle Tennessee :frow They are probably still a little stressed. Give them time and lots of love. They'll need a good layer feed and oyster shell. Treats are good too but not more than 10% of their diet. Their nest boxes should be off the ground but below the roosts, you want them to sleep on the roost.

Welcome, from New Orleans. Where in France is Dordogne?