first-time chickie mama

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by pixiechic, Apr 23, 2008.

1. pixiechic

pixiechic Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2008
    North GA
    I'm new to the world of chickens. A neighbor gave us three nearly full-grown white roaster-type chickens (two hens, one rooster) about a month ago, and they have been pretty easy to care for. We keep them in a small coop surrounded by a wire pen. Lost one hen to a predator a couple of weeks later -- we live in a rural area with coyotes and redtail hawks, in addition to all the usual threats -- so now we're religious about closing them up in their coop at night.

Anyway...as of this afternoon, we have our first babies - a couple of silkies, of indeterminate age. Aren't they adorable?

[​IMG]

DH built a great wood/wire brooder for them, and we're keeping the babies in the garage/basement until the weather warms up a bit more. Unfortunately I don't know the first thing about caring for chicks, and I'm reading everything I can here, but any suggestions are welcome.

Needless to say, our 3 dogs and 3 cats are fascinated, so they are closely supervised around the chicks. One of the dogs is so smitten with the lil' peepers that she growls at the other dogs if they get too close to the brooder. Is this common?

2. S0rcy

S0rcy Chillin' With My Peeps

Congrats! They're cute! [​IMG]

Keep them warm with a heat lamp!

The dog may see the chicks as "hers" If I were you I wouldn't allow this behavior. The chicks are yours, not hers. Could lead to trouble if she keeps thinking it. Just my opinion though. [​IMG]

Have fun!

3. pixiechic

Apr 23, 2008
    North GA
    Thanks!

Yep, we do have a heat lamp hanging above the brooder, and I will check it before bed to be sure it's warm enough. I have hay lining the brooder right now, but will go to the feed store tomorrow and get some pine shavings and "grower" chick food.